European Steering Group

About the European Steering Group for Sustainable Healthcare

Traditional healthcare systems – which revolve around acute care – can no longer cope with these challenges without a fundamental transformation which will support sustainable healthcare. Established in March 2014 – and initiated by AbbVie – the European Steering Group (ESG) on Sustainable Healthcare, under the chairpersonship of former Health Minister of Ireland, Mary Harney, brings together expertise from the policy community, civil society, healthcare professionals, scientific societies, academics and industry.
The ESG has taken a unique and proactive approach to address the sustainability of European healthcare systems. Rather than create another “think tank”, the ESG has created a “do tank” across 21 European countries. In each country, strong multi-stakeholder partnerships and working groups have been formed to reflect on and devise solutions to the key challenges facing national or regional healthcare systems.
Concrete pilot projects are being implemented on a local level across Europe, with a view to scaling these up for the benefit of patients and healthcare systems at a broader level. This joint effort has seen more than 30 pilots launched under three main work streams:
1. Investing in prevention and early intervention
2. Fostering empowered and responsible citizens
3. Reorganising care delivery.
By assessing concrete evidence and best practice examples across Europe (and beyond), the ESG formulated 18 policy recommendation, launched in the pan-European White Paper ‘Acting Together A Roadmap for Sustainable Healthcare’ at the EU level in 2015.
In 2016, the project moved in to Chapter Two. Going forward, the ESG will focus on one of its key policy recommendations – cross-ministry collaborations and joint projects. The ESG believes that given the close interaction between different sectors – such as health, social welfare, and employment – cross-sectoral collaboration will become essential for the achievement of various policy goals, as well as for the maximisation of value.

Our people

Meet the ESG committee members:

Our people

Mary Harney

Chair, European Steering Group. Former Minister of Health in Ireland

Our people

Esteban Plata

President, International Western Europe and Canada, AbbVie

Our people

Professor Vincenzo Atella

Centre for Economic and International Studies (CEIS), University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Our people

Dr. Mary Baker MBE

Former President, European Brain Council

Our people

Dr. Juan Jover

Head of Rheumatology, Hospital Clínico San Carlos, Complutense University, Madrid, Spain

Our people

Nicola Bedlington

Secretary General, European Patients’ Forum (EPF)

Our people

Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham

Director, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College London

Download the eu whitepaper